top of page

Pushcart Prize Nominations 2023

HOWL is honoured to nominate the following writers for the 2023 Pushcart Prize. We wish we could have nominated more! It was a very difficult decision to choose only six writers from the fifty-six incredible writers featured in HOWL 23.

Congratulations to:

  • Matthew Geden for the poem 'The Poet's Coat'

  • Anne Tannam for the poem 'Laid Out'

  • Jemma Walsh for the poem 'Mal Aux Prop Aux Dents Ism'

  • Marry Morrissy for the story 'Smoker's Cough'

  • Conor Montague for the story 'All Road's Lead To Ballinasloe'

  • Dara Higgins for the story 'The Void'

Recent Posts

See All


Book_Mockup_1-02-dark grey.png

Preorder HOWL '23

HOWL New Irish Writing '23 is a curated collection of stories and poems from 56 of the best contemporary Irish writers today. Preorder now for delivery in October.

bottom of page